About Chinese Proficiency Test (HSK)

Chinese Proficiency Test, or Hanyu Shuiping Kaoshi (HSK) is an international standardised examination that tests and rates Chinese language proficiency. 

It assesses non-native Chinese speakers’ abilities in using the Chinese language in their daily, academic and professional lives.

1. Examination structure

HSK consists of six levels, namely HSK (Level I), HSK (Level II), HSK (Level III), HSK (Level IV), (HSK Level V), (HSK Level VI)

2. Examination Levels

The levels of the HSK correspond to the level of the Chinese Language Proficiency Scales for Speakers of Other Languages (CLPS) as follows:

HSK (Level VI)5000+Level V
HSK (Level V)2500Level V
HSK (Level IV)1200Level IV
HSK (Level III)600Level III
HSK (Level II)300Level II
HSK (Levek I)150Level I
  • Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level I) can understand and use very simple Chinese words and phrases, meet basic needs for communication and possess the ability to further their Chinese language studies.
  • Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level II) have an excellent grasp of basic Chinese and can communicate in simple and routine tasks requiring a simple and direct exchange of information on familiar and routine matters.
  • Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level III) can communicate in Chinese at a basic level in their daily, academic and professional lives. They can manage most communication in Chinese when traveling in China.
  • Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level IV) can converse in Chinese on a wide range of topics and are able to communicate fluently with native Chinese speakers.
  • Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level V) can read Chinese newspapers and magazines, enjoy Chinese films and plays, and give a full-length speech in Chinese
  • Test takers who are able to pass the HSK (Level VI) can easily comprehend written and spoken information in Chinese and can effectively express themselves in Chinese, both orally and on paper.

3. Examination Principles

  • The new HSK follows the principle of “test-teaching correlation”, bases the design of the test on the current trends in international Chinese language training, and is closely related to textbooks. The purpose of the test is to “promote training through testing” and “promote learning through testing”.
  • The new HSK emphasizes the objectivity and accuracy of the evaluation and stresses the learners’ actual Chinese language abilities.
  • The new HSK sets clear test objectives to allow the test takers to be able to improve their Chinese language abilities in a systematic and efficient way.

4. Examination Method

Internet-based examination is having the examination conducted on a computer that is connected to the Internet, to test the Chinese proficiency of the student.

5. Examination purpose

  • A reference for an educational institution’s decision-making concerning recruiting students, assigning students to different classes, allowing students to skip certain courses and granting students academic credits.
  • A reference for employers’ decision-making concerning the recruitment, training and promotion of test takers.

Attention to students who intends to study abroad at People’s Republic of China, we recommend you to take HSK (Level IV) and above to grant you an advantage when applying for better universities and scholarships. 

If you took Chinese Language in Sijil Pendidikan Malaysia (SPM), we recommend you to take HSK (Level V) and above.